As most of my single female friends here will attest, romance in the Big Mango is hard to find for Western women of any size, shape and age, not only for a large built Western tranny. While I know a lot of couples who have managed to remain loved up after moving here, I also know a lot for whom moving to Bangkok has put an end to their relationships.

Some Thai women can come across initially more demure and eager to please than Western women, and while that is without question a generalization, (and an illusion in part created by a language barrier) the exotic beauty of Asian women, genetic or transgendered, appeals to many Western men more than homegrown offerings, whether it be to answer a physical urge or in the search of a wife.

I’m currently on a number of social websites and apps in hope of finding new friends to hang out with in and around Bangkok, as well as for a chance of finding a deeper connection. It would be nice to have a significant other.

The sites I have profiles on, at the moment include:

ThaiFriendly, Birchplace, PlanetRomeo, InterracialDatingCentral, and MyLadyboyDate. (I’m also on Collarspace, FetLife & Recon which are a little more specialized and will give you a snapshot into the darker side of my submissive psyche and kinks.)

Of the more “vanilla” sites, Thaifriendly, PlanetRomeo (even though it’s billed as being for gay men) and Myladyboydate all allow you to select transgender/ladyboy as your gender, which I applaud. Although you can assume that guys on myladyboydate are automatically looking for someone transgendered, Thaifriendly has a mix of men who register as being interested in other men, women or transgendered people, and you’re unable to set search filters to show only those with an interest in your gender, which makes it a little laborious to sift through profiles. Of these two, as the name suggests, Thaifriendly is more geared towards people living in or visiting Thailand. With Interracial Dating Central there is no option for transgender, so I list myself as female with the first line of my profile explaining myself. So many people don’t read profiles though, and then get a surprise.

I’m also trying my luck on a few phone apps, including Tinder, Grindr and ThaiJoop. Tinder and Grindr are probably the best of the bunch, with Grindr taking the edge. Even though it’s a primarily a gay oriented app, the “tribes” you can show interest in include trans. It is however, as the name suggests, mainly good for getting some NSA (no strings attached) action rather than hoping to find the love of your life. I’ve connected with a few people from Tinder, but there is no option to select that I’m transgender and so I repeatedly get guys vanishing after engaging in conversation for a while when they finally read my profile and discover I’m not a genetic woman.

Craigslist Thailand has also proved to be a decent way to meet new people, with sections within the personals for transgendered people.

If you are looking for some fun bump and grind, (everyone needs it on occasion) Grindr, Craigslist and PlanetRomeo have worked well for me, but I’m looking for something a bit more substantial. I have female friends who have had success with BangkokFaces and there are a number of dating sites around where you pay a fee and are therefore less likely to come across fake profiles or fantasists, but none that I’ve found yet offer a service for transgendered people in Thailand. If I had the internet skills I’d set one up.

Ultimately I’m on these sites and apps in order to find people to connect with in the real world, so to beat the often overwhelming number of fakers and fantasists found on line, the best place to meet people still remains out in the real world! So who’s up for drinks at Scarlet Bar this Friday?

