Many people ask me where is best to meet transgender women and ladyboys here in Bangkok who aren’t prostitutes, and I have to admit that I just don’t know. I’m sad to say I don’t have any close transgendered friends here. That’s not because I don’t want any, but because I don’t come across any in my day to day life.

While Thailand is popularly known as transgender central, with ladyboys being the commonly accepted 3rd sex, it’s only a surface appearance, (evidenced by the challenge faced to meet ladyboys who do not work in the adult industry,). Society does generally accept them here…..but usually only if they are not in your family or your work place.

I did interview a young ladyboy about 6 or 7 years ago for a position as one of my Customer Relations staff in the company I work for, and I’m pleased to say that my seniors accepted her on my recommendation.  Disappointingly she was required by them to wear a man’s uniform to work and strap her breasts down – probably one of the reasons she recently left – and reaction like that is in part why I’m reluctant to live as a woman full time myself. I’m heavily customer focused in my role, and if my employers decided to discontinue my employment I’d face the challenge of trying to find another respectable job in Thailand for a company willing to employ me, or I’d be forced to return to the UK, which I really don’t want to do.

I’m a member of the website Thaifriendly, which is one of the few meeting sites or apps that allows you to select your gender, or the gender you are interested in contacting, as transgender or ladyboy. From talking with guys using the site, it seems they are finding mainly ladyboys who want money for services, and this seems widespread throughout the web. But while I’m flattered that guys think I might be able to charge, guys who contact me thinking I’m a hooker are not the guys I want to get to know.

I’d like to do something about it. I’d like to create an opportunity for ladyboys and their friends to get together at different public venues and socialize. I kind of hope someone will correct me here, but I don’t know of anywhere in Bangkok to go with a good chance of running in to ladyboys who have normal day jobs. Nana is a prolific place full of Ladyboy go go bars, and there are a couple of good live music spots on Patpong Soi 1 which attract a late night ladyboy contingent, but again more often than not, these are bar workers, on or off shift.

I’m hoping if I keep blogging, I may build up a following with a smattering of transgendered people living in and around Bangkok to start this group, and if this describes you, drop me a message here  or more privately on my facebook (link on sidebar) and we’ll make this happen.

